Free Webinar: What’s the Big Idea? Environmental Exposures and the State of Chemical Policy Reform

Do you know the difference between an unregulated chemical used in consumer products and a regulated prescription medicine?

What determines whether or not a chemical is deemed safe? Do you know who gets to decide?

Register for Thursday August 1st 12pm (PDT)/3pm (EDT)

Register for Friday August 2nd 10am (PDT)/1pm (EDT)

Join us, along with Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D., D.A.B.T., A.T.S., Director of the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences and the National Toxicology Program, to have a discussion about environmental exposures and the state of chemical reform in the U.S.

With more than 85,000 synthetic chemicals in use, expecting each of us to regulate our exposure to these chemicals through our consumer choices is an unacceptable solution. We are involuntarily exposed to chemicals and radiation on a daily basis–too often, the products we use as part of personal hygiene or household cleaning routines contain chemicals that are harmful to our health. Although there is a growing body of evidence that connects environmental toxins and breast cancer, how can we possible understand the full impact of how environmental chemicals affect our health and impact disease risk, when so many chemicals remain unregulated and untested?

During the webinar we will cover:

  • How environmental chemicals can act as “uncontrolled medicine”
  • Endocrine disrupting effects of environmental chemicals
  • The state of chemical reform right now
  • The difference between The Safe Chemicals Act & The Chemical Safety Improvement Act
  • How you can get involved

Join us on Thursday August 1st 12pm (PDT)/3pm (EDT) and Friday August 2nd 10am (PDT)/1pm (EDT) for this free webinar to discuss ways to push for better chemical policy and more research on the impact of environmental chemicals and breast cancer.

This entry was posted in Articles, BCA Action Alerts, BCA Events, E-Alerts.